Watford Palace Theatre in association with Rifco Theatre Company

Abigail's Party

Written By Mike Leigh Directed By Pravesh Kumar

‘Kumar’s ability to showcase the chaos surrounding something as clinical as an arranged marriage succeeds in serving up a lip-smackingly delicious extravaganza.’

Asian Times on The Deranged Marriage directed by Pravesh Kumar

 A painfully funny tragic-comedy of marriage and class, at a 1970s suburban drinks party.

Welcome to 1970s suburbia and its heady mix of free-flowing drinks, classic disco and cheese & pineapple sticks.

Aspirational Beverly and her estate agent husband Laurence are hosting drinks for their newlywed neighbours. They are joined by a very anxious Susan, who has been banished from her daughter Abigail’s party. As the evening goes on, marital tensions rise and tempers flare as the characters’ true natures are hilariously but ruthlessly exposed.

Mike Leigh’s classic comedy, which became an iconic TV film starring Alison Steadman, is one of the most popular plays of modern times.

This new production is set against the back drop of an evolving multicultural Britain of the 70s.

 

Q&A: Thu 14 May, 7.30pm & Wed 20 May, 2.30pm

Captioned: Thurs 21 May, 7.30pm

Audio Described: Sat 23 May, 2.30pm

 

Tickets

Box Office 01923 225671
Wednesday 29 Apr 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Thursday 30 Apr 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Friday 01 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 02 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Monday 04 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Tuesday 05 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Wednesday 06 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Thursday 07 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Thursday 07 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 09 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 09 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Sunday 10 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Tuesday 12 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Wednesday 13 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Wednesday 13 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Thursday 14 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Friday 15 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 16 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 16 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Sunday 17 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Tuesday 19 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Wednesday 20 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Wednesday 20 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Thursday 21 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Friday 22 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 23 May 2020 14:30 Buy tickets
Saturday 23 May 2020 19:30 Buy tickets